Connecting to the Tempo

In the PossiDude Drum Workshops I do we talk about tempo.  The speed at which we play.  What I’ve noticed is that when someone loses the tempo they generally get louder and play faster.   It occurred to me, isn’t that what happens when we lose our temper in our life, we get louder and go faster?   In either case…  actually any time I start going fast and get loud, it’s an indicator that I’ve lost my tempo/temper, which means I’ve lost connection to the common-unity I’m in.  When I’m alone and this happens, it means I’ve lost my connection to my source/soul.  The only way I can get reconnected is to stop…. stop thinking… listen… and feel my connection.  Then I am reconnected to who I really am and I can connect to the world around me.

We can never really lose our tempo because we didn’t create it, we can only temporarily get off track.

Leave a comment